Bird In Flight Photography

Photo Credit by Vic Berardi.

I have spent over ten years photographing nature and animals and from my long years of experience I will share with you readers some of my tips and advice concerning birds in flight photography.  This isn’t one of my images above, but I am using it as an example for my article, but if you want to see my work, then visit my Website.

Before I even picked up a camera, I have studied birds from researching and reading bird books  and to listening to bird calls on bird websites.  I first became an expert at identifying bird calls, their bird feathers, and comprehending their behavior so that for later on, I would be ready to start photographing them.  So first things first, if you want to get into bird photography, become knowledgeable about your subject.  The vital lesson here.  The hunter must know its prey before it can start hunting it down.  Trust me, my important advice will save you a lot of time and frustration.

My second advice is to pick the right telephoto lens that best suits your needs, your hunting strategies, your environment, and geographic region.  I have only two lens, my 18-55mm lens which is most suited for shooting landscape photography, and my 75-300mm lens which is suited for shooting nature and wildlife photography and that’s basically my camera equipment.  Of course I would rather possess a longer telephoto lens such as 1,000mm lens and a professional  camera like a Canon 5D Mark III, but I don’t have the funds to support my luxury photography equipment.  I have to make good use of the photography equipment that I do have.

I rely on my knowledge of birds to photograph and capture my bird images and this tremendously makes up for my small telephoto lens.  Now I’m not saying that you can’t capture marvelous birds images with a 75-300mm lens or even as small as a 200mm lens because you easily can.  You just have to know your subject well.  For beginners in birds in flight photography, I recommend that you start photographing sea gulls because they are more approachable and they are a lot easier to manage. Of course this can only make good use for you if seagulls reside in your region, but even if they don’t, I’m sure there are birds in your region that are easier to approach.  I photograph seagulls by throwing bread in the air to them to initially attract them to me, but then to also trick them into preforming different aerial tricks in front of me so that I can just start snapping pictures of them.  I usually preform routines with seagulls by myself because I love the challenge, but you can also bring someone along to have them throw the bread in the air while you just focus on snapping the pictures.

Your geographic region and environment can have an effect on your bird photography.  I spend more of my time photographing raptors in flight than any other bird and I reside in the east coast and because I reside on the eastern side of the United States, this has an affect on my chances of photographing raptors.  Raptors of the western part of the United States are tamer and easier to photograph and its a lot of easier to photograph them, but photographing raptors in the east coast can take decades and I am a perfect example of this.  There are many reasons why raptors on the west coast are tamer than the raptors in the east coast but I don’t have time to discuss that for this blog post. All of these factors have an affect on your chances of photographing and capturing birds in flight.  You have to study and know your subject.  Of course there are a lot more things involved in bird in flight photography, but my blog post will be too long to read so I will end it here guys.

Here’s a youtube video of Eagle vs Hare:

Video Credit by BBC Earth.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my article concerning bird in flight photography and have learned something new from me and from perspective.  To learn more about me, then visit by clicking my Website.

2 thoughts on “Bird In Flight Photography

Leave a Reply

